New Bedford Whaling Museum

When we first arrived at the Whaling museum in New Bedford, I didn’t know what to make of it. The location of the museum was pretty cool. There was much history where we were with the cobblestone streets, the historic buildings, and being so close to the ocean. Our tour guide Larry was awesome and was so factual, funny and engaging (it just happened to be an added bonus that he used to go to URI back in the day) I was surprised how many pieces of artwork there were by local artists of the area. One name I recognized was William Bradford (I remembered reading him in ENG 241). The artwork was amazing and had such precision and detail to accuracy. I also enjoyed the room with all the whale teeth. There were so many of them all with varying sizes. They were all sharp and the designs on them were very cool. Some of the teeth were the size and diameter of my hand or even longer. And that’s just one tooth. I can’t even imagine how these men went after such creatures of that size. Seeing the teeth really put things into perspective.  I think one of the coolest exhibits there was the whale ship “The Lagoda” The fact that the museum was able to create a replica of the ship (well, to the best of their ability was so cool) Being able to walk on the ship and experience the tight quarters that the large crew did back in the day really put things into perspective as well. Overall, I really enjoyed my time at the museum and the hamburger at the restaurant DNB was especially good as well.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply