The New Bedford Whaling Muesum

To be honest, I was not convinced as to having a class field trip on a saturday morning in college to a whaling museum, but I was wrong. It was an interesting day. I don’t count myself to be a Moby Dick fan, but the trip did help me understand and connect the information we learned from the tour to the plot and actions occurring of the story. The tour guide Larry was extremely animated and funny which made the tour entertaining. Two things that stood out to me the most during the tour was there was one banner that described how they were ordered to cut the blubber “as thin as bible leaves.” This showed how important religion was to the quakers who owned the whaling industry, and another thing that i enjoyed a lot was the section on the natives of the other countries where they also were part of the whaling industry. I, myself didn’t know that this was a huge business back then, and it also emphasized the quakers beliefs on equality, something that Melville portrays in Moby Dick through Ishmael and Queequeg’s friendship.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply