Something Old And Something New

We were discussing the friendships today. We were talking about Mrs. Todd, Mrs. Fosdick and the narrator. The relationships reminded me a lot of my friendships from high school in competition with my friendships from college. There was an obvious tension between Mrs. Fosdick and the narrator; between Mrs. Todd old friend and her new one.  Many times when I’ve invited my friends from my hometown to my college for a weekend there’s a time of tension. My best friend from home and my best friend here at college are very similar people so I, like Mrs. Todd believed that they would get along very well. It took some time for them to be comfortable together. For some time I would have to alleviate the awkward moments by trying to find things they had in common and talk about that. After a few visits they started getting along but it did take some time. Again similar to me Mrs. Todd is the person that knows both of the women relatively well and believes that since they are both world travelers they should get along. However, sometimes when people are too similar they won’t get along. How often would you want to hang out with yourself? For some time I thought that’s how it would be with my friends but eventually they hit it off and now we all love hanging out when they visit or when I bring my college friends to my hometown.  Mrs. Fosdick and the narrator eventually seemed to get along they found some things they had in common and it worked out pretty well. I think having had this experience it made the situation very familiar to me and kept me intrigued by this story line.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply