The Role of Marine Animals in Literature- A second Look

Earlier in the semester I wrote a blog/paper on the relevance of marine animals in the texts we have read. At this point we had read Marquez’s “The Story of a Shipwrecked Sailor”, Poe’s “The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket” and Johnson’s “Pym”. I analyzed the metaphoric purpose of marine animals in these fictional texts.

Rachel Carson’s “Under the Sea-Wind” had offered a new perspective on the role of marine animals in literature. Her text was not the first non-fiction piece we have read, however Henry David Thoreau’s “Cape Cod” was not suited to my personal taste. While the texts are similar in their lack of central characters, and plots, Carson’s text was much more captivating to me. My personal interest in marine animals may be an explanation as to why I was interested in Carson’s text as opposed to Thoreau’s, but I believe the fluidity of the language is what attracts me to this text as a reader. “Under the Sea-Wind” is my first non-fiction literary experience with marine animals not only above the surface but below as well. Carson introduces us to ghost crabs, sand fleas, and microscopic algae, the likes of which have not been relevant in previous texts.

Instead of looking for the literary significance of marine animals, this text allows me to observe their habits and biology at face value. There is no symbolic meaning behind fact; there is what is. I can enjoy learning about their mating habits, migration patterns, and techniques used to hide from predators without searching for a greater purpose or meaning, or trying to situate myself in a land of fiction and symbolic meaning. Although I enjoy analyzing metaphors in literature, it is a refreshing change of perspective to be TOLD what you are looking at, rather than interpret it yourself.

Rachel Carson’s texts has been one of my favorites so far in the course.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wsYQoGHSzcw

(Washington Post-via Youtube)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply