What’s in a Gender?

 

Sarah Orne Jewett Photo courtesy of Wikipedia
Sarah Orne Jewett
Photo courtesy of Wikipedia

I’d like to respond to both Erin and Kim’s Country of Pointed Firs responses. Erin’s response brought up the issue of the confusion surrounding the narrator’s gender, which I too had trouble discerning at first. I don’t know why, but I automatically assumed when I began that ‘she’ was in fact a ‘he’. There was no real outward indication, and it was perhaps the initial distant relationship depicted between Mrs. Todd and the narrator and the fact that I neglected to read the back cover that made me believe this, but once a gown was mentioned I was convinced that I had been wrong. Kim’s response touches upon the domestic responsibilities that Elijah had to take on once his wife died, and the fact that he experienced somewhat of a gender swap. She describes him as vulnerable, and points out that he is noted as being a “very good housekeeper” by other members of the Dunnet community. Both of these responses led me to ponder whether or not an ambiguity of gender roles is something that Sarah Orne Jewett meant convey throughout the book, or if it is just coincidence. From this evidence, and subtle clues throughout the text, I would argue for the former.

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

One thought on “What’s in a Gender?

  1. Hi Brianna,
    Thanks for responding to my post! You bring up interesting points about the “Country of Pointed Firs,” in regards to Sarah Orne Jewett’s goal in what exactly she was trying to convey to readers. Like you, I don’t believe it’s a coincidence how we were constantly left making presumptions as to the gender of the narrator and the reversed gender roles of Elijah. Although after further reading, it was more obvious that the narrator was female, because of the portrayal of Elijah’s reactions towards his deceased wife we became unsure of what the author wanted us to consider when it comes to gender. It is not often that a man’s housework is described as very good, and judging from my dad, brother, and boyfriend, I would never describe anything they do in regards to housework as “very good.” By keeping us guessing about gender in the book, we are able to come up with our own opinions as the author’s true goal and purpose with both the narrator and Elijah. Great connections!

Leave a Reply