That Famous Lighthouse Lady

Last night I went to the screening of the Ida Lewis documentary. I really enjoyed it and I learned a lot of things that I didn’t know before. She lived an incredible life. On the way home, I found myself thinking about the different things she did; the sheer number of rescues alone is simply astounding. However, for me, the most incredible part of her story was how quickly she was forgotten. I’ve lived in Rhode Island my whole life and I didn’t hear about for the first time only a few years ago. Up until last night, I only really knew her as “that famous lighthouse lady”. I didn’t even know any of the incredible things that she did, I just assumed that she was famous because she lived there a really long time.

I tried to think of the different reasons why someone like Ida Lewis gets forgotten. Maybe it’s because she was a woman but I have to think that more than anything, it’s because we’ve forgotten about the importance of lighthouses. I think that is what struck me the most about the documentary, I gained a newfound appreciation for lighthouses. It’s incredible to think that people like Ida dedicated their entire lives to maintaining the light. Without them, who knows would have happened to these harbors. Think of how detrimental it would have been to just Newport? If the ships couldn’t get in and out safely, the entire industry would have probably collapsed.

It’s a shame that Ida’s story was forgotten, it’s nice to know that she’s making a come back. I was really surprised to see so many little kids there last night. I was even more excited to see the little boy who had  done a school project on Ida Lewis; apparently his whole class was doing projects on famous Rhode Islanders. I might have not grown up learning about Ida Lewis but I was excited to see other people who were learning about her from a young age!

http://ocean.happeningmag.com/honoring-lighthouse-keeper-ida-lewis
http://ocean.happeningmag.com/honoring-lighthouse-keeper-ida-lewis

 

http://www2.lhric.org/pocantico/womenenc/lewis2.htm
http://www2.lhric.org/pocantico/womenenc/lewis2.htm

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 thoughts on “That Famous Lighthouse Lady

  1. Ryan,

    Thanks for the recap of the Ida Lewis documentary. Honestly, before I read this, I didn’t know anything about her. It’s interesting to think about the historical accomplishments that are often overlooked because of changes in technology and protocol. I think most people forget the importance that lighthouses had to ocean travelers of the past.

  2. Ryan,
    I saw the documentary last night as well, and similar to you, I was so surprised to hear about her heroism and bravery. It’s sad that her life is not celebrated as it should be, but luckily word about her is getting out. You make a great point as to why she has been forgotten- our technology and maritime demands have surpassed what lighthouse keepers, like Ida Lewis who would check to make sure the light was still lit throughout the night, can provide. Good blog post!

Leave a Reply