The Mystique of Mystic

Rainy day in Spring.

Class goes to Mystic Seaport, Connecticut.

Breakfast.  Lunch.  Brunch.

Together at Kitchen Little.

Chicken Little?  Kitchen Little.

Hamburgers and omelets.  French fries soaked in ketchup.

Dropping the beat.  Mimosas unordered.

Snaggle-toothed and increasingly impatient waitress.

Histories of sailing.  Boats on water and people, too.

Photos in black and white fashion.

Puppet shows on the third floor.

Banging on children’s toys.  Children’s toys.

Cider bread and smoking fires.  

Maidenheads, Melville, and Moby Dick.

Staying. Dry under shared umbrellas.  

Constructing cramped quarters and leaking roofs.  

Wet feet.  Warm coffee.  Wet feet.  

Wet feet walking away from gift shops and quiet goodbyes spoken under falling rain in parking lots where the sound of tires becoming unstuck from the ground echoes from the road.

 

 

 

 

Pictures taken at mystic today:

men.mystic

 

I fell in love with this photo

 

 

navy.image

 

Let’s talk about gender.

 

 

titanic.image

 

“No wonder it sunk.”—Ryan Mount

 

 

type.mystic

Writing desk envy.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

4 thoughts on “The Mystique of Mystic

  1. You are fantastic. What a great way to pay tribute to the class and also make me cry a little bit. As Olivia said, I liked the flow of the piece. I also liked how it read as two separate posts. The poem in one and commentary on the art as another. Kudos to you sir.

  2. Sam! What a wonderfully creative post. I love the rhythm and flow to the whole piece. I wonder if I read it the same way you do? The final sentence made me sad just like Ryan had mentioned, I think because it just summed up our semester so quickly and quietly. I loved the title as well!

  3. Sam! I thought this was wonderful. The writing was very poetic. It made me a sad a little, especially at the end. It was such an accurate portrayal of the trip overall. I had a lot more fun than I expected to have.

    Oh, and thanks for the Titanic quote credit. Haha.

Leave a Reply